fbpx
Français English

THE CITY OF GASPÉ WILL WELCOME CÉDRIC PAQUETTE AND THE STANLEY CUP ON THURSDAY, AUGUST 19, 2021

The City of Gaspé will have the honor of welcoming hockey player Cédric Paquette and the Stanley Cup to Gaspé! Despite the little time allocated to Mr. Paquette with the Cup, he intends to share this wonderful moment with the population of his native region on August 19 at the Cédric Paquette Recreation Center in Saint-Majorique between 13 p.m. and 15:30 p.m. This will be an opportunity for the population to come and meet Mr. Paquette and take a picture with the Stanley Cup! In order to respect the sanitary measures in force, we will ask people to circulate along a route that will bring them near the Cup and not to congregate on the ice. People will also have to keep a distance of one meter between the family bubbles.

"We are very happy that Cédric has the unexpected opportunity to bring the Stanley Cup with him to Gaspé, and that he has the generosity to share it with the population, despite the little time he will have with the legendary trophy. The Stanley Cup in Gaspé is a historic moment in itself! Even almost a year after his victory, it will be a great honor for us to have access to the Cup and we are still proud of Cédric and his successes, of which the entire Gaspé population is proud. Cédric: the entire municipal council and the entire population thank you for giving us this moment, and you still have our most sincere congratulations on this extraordinary success ”declares the mayor of Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

The event will take place at the Saint-Majorique Recreation Center, the village from which Cédric Paquette originates. Radio-Gaspésie will broadcast a special program for the occasion and there will be entertainment on site. It will be possible for the population to see the Cup more closely from 13 p.m. to 15:30 p.m. on Thursday, August 19.

“Despite the social and health rules and the scheduling constraints limiting the availability of Cédric and the Cup, I invite the population to attend in large numbers to this exceptional event organized by our municipal team in collaboration with Cédric's family! I would like to thank Cédric, his family and the entire team behind the organization of this event where we will once again be able to demonstrate our pride in our champion ”concludes the mayor of Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

Remember that Gaspé hockey player Cédric Paquette, now under contract with the Montreal Canadiens, won the Stanley Cup on September 28, 2020 with the Tampa Bay Lightning. A parade with Cédric Paquette, but without the Cup which could not travel due to the pandemic context, was organized on October 22, 2020, to underline this historic conquest by a Gaspésien hockey player.

fbpx
Français English

LA VILLE DE GASPÉ ACCUEILLERA CÉDRIC PAQUETTE ET LA COUPE STANLEY LE JEUDI 19 AOÛT 2021

La Ville de Gaspé aura l’honneur d’accueillir le hockeyeur Cédric Paquette et la Coupe Stanley à Gaspé! Malgré le peu de temps alloué à monsieur Paquette avec la Coupe, il compte partager ce beau moment avec la population de sa région natale le 19 août prochain au Centre des loisirs Cédric Paquette de Saint-Majorique entre 13h et 15h30. Ce sera l’occasion pour la population de venir rencontrer monsieur Paquette et de prendre une photo avec la Coupe Stanley! Afin de respecter les mesures sanitaires en vigueur, nous demanderons aux gens de circuler le long d’un trajet qui les amènera près de la Coupe et de ne pas se rassembler sur la patinoire. Les gens devront également garder une distance d’un mètre entre les bulles familiales.

« Nous sommes très heureux que Cédric ait l’opportunité inespérée d’apporter la Coupe Stanley avec lui à Gaspé, et qu’il ait la générosité de partager celle-ci avec la population, malgré le peu de temps dont il disposera avec le mythique trophée. La Coupe Stanley à Gaspé, c’est un moment historique en soi! Même près d’un an après sa victoire, ce sera tout un honneur pour nous d’avoir accès à la Coupe et nous sommes toujours aussi fiers de Cédric et ses succès, dont s’enorgueillit toute la population gaspésienne. Cédric : tout le conseil municipal et toute la population te remercient de nous offrir ce moment, et tu as encore nos plus sincères félicitations pour cette réussite extraordinaire » déclare le maire de Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

L’événement se déroulera au Centre des loisirs de Saint-Majorique, village d’où origine Cédric Paquette. Radio-Gaspésie diffusera une émission spéciale pour l’occasion et de l’animation sera faite sur place. Il sera possible pour la population de voir de plus près la Coupe de 13h à 15h30 le jeudi 19 août.

« Malgré les règles sociosanitaires et les contraintes d’horaire limitant la disponibilité de Cédric et de la Coupe, j’invite la population à assister en grand nombre à cet événement exceptionnel qu’organise notre équipe municipale en collaboration avec la famille de Cédric! Je remercie Cédric, sa famille et toute l’équipe derrière l’organisation de cet événement où nous pourrons de nouveau démontrer notre fierté à l’égard de notre champion » conclut le maire de Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

Rappelons que le hockeyeur gaspésien Cédric Paquette, aujourd’hui sous contrat avec les Canadiens de Montréal, a remporté la Coupe Stanley le 28 septembre 2020 avec le Lightning de Tampa Bay. Un défilé avec Cédric Paquette, mais sans la Coupe qui ne pouvait pas voyager en raison du contexte pandémique, avait été organisé le 22 octobre 2020, pour souligner cette conquête historique par un hockeyeur Gaspésien.