fbpx
Français English

2022 ELECTORAL CAMPAIGN: THE CITY OF GASPÉ SHOWS ITS EXPECTATIONS TOWARDS THE NEXT GOVERNMENT

The next Quebec government will be elected on October 3, 2022. The City of Gaspé wishes to make its expectations known to the various political parties and to the candidates vying for the position of MNA for Gaspé in the National Assembly. Several files have advanced over the past 4 years, but several others must also be on the agenda of the next government to allow the City of Gaspé to continue its economic and demographic growth and improve its living environment.


“Several issues must be on the agenda of the next government. For the City of Gaspé, one of the files that could not be settled and which is stagnating at the moment is that of a new arena. It is imperative that the next government commit to reinstating a funding program that will allow municipalities to carry out arena projects in Quebec. The one in Gaspé is at the end of its useful life and, at present, no one can tell us how many more years we will be able to find parts to operate the obsolete refrigeration system. I expect local candidates to speak out on this issue and support us in obtaining funding as quickly as possible to begin construction of the new sports complex,” said Mayor Daniel Côté.


Municipal construction and operating costs are skyrocketing with galloping inflation, as they are for all citizens. However, it is the governments of Quebec and Canada that benefit from the rise in prices with their revenues from consumption taxes such as the QST and the GST and income taxes that are rising more rapidly. The method of financing municipalities, based largely on property taxes, does not increase as quickly as inflation; the tax system needs to be reviewed. Like the UMQ, the City of Gaspé is asking the next government for one-time assistance to offset inflation, before the next municipal budgets, otherwise the cities will not be able to absorb all these expenses without incurring pay the price to the taxpayers, already taken by the throat by this same inflation.


“The property tax system has reached its limits for the municipal world. The next government must be able to work with the municipalities to find alternatives to this mode of taxation and new funds for the cities. Quickly, a one-time sum will be needed to lessen the impact on the budgets for the year 2023 of the municipalities,” demanded the mayor of Gaspé.


Housing, labor and child care


“Gaspé is experiencing strong economic growth, but this is being held back by shortages of housing, labor and child care spaces. For childcare services, good work has been done, with 184 additional spaces granted over the past year for the Gaspé territory. Everything must be put in place to accelerate its deployment. We will also have to continue to be agile and grant more, if the need arises with the massive influx of new workers, since our economic vigor will not run out of steam anytime soon,” explains the mayor of Gaspé, Daniel Côté.


On the labor side, governments absolutely must be able to speed up the process of regionalizing immigration. It turns out, for the future of our regions and certainly for the City of Gaspé, a promising solution for its development. The aging of the population will first be felt in the regions; the arrival of newcomers is part of the strategies adopted by the municipality. The government must be able to put in place clear incentives so that people who immigrate to Canada know that regions like ours are ready to welcome them. Integration into Francophone culture is also more natural in the regions.
“Finally, if we want to welcome new families and new workers, the government must step up its pace in supporting housing construction, particularly social and affordable housing. The programs in place should enable promoters in the region to quickly launch social and affordable housing projects. The deadlines are still too long and an effort of modulation is also needed in the programs to reflect the higher construction costs in outlying regions like ours. There are also adjustments to be made to the various laws and regulations in order to remove certain obstacles to housing development, as we experienced recently with the Ministry of Natural Resources in Gaspé. If housing is a priority for the next government, it will have to remove all the obstacles and help us meet this challenge,” said the mayor.


The City of Gaspé will send all of its demands (appended to this press release) to each of the candidates running in the electoral division of Gaspé. The mayor also invites each candidate to meet with the city council over the next few weeks.

List of priority files identified by the City of Gaspé

1- Improvement of municipal infrastructure programs

➢ Quickly put in place an assistance program for the construction of major sports infrastructures, such as sports complexes, in order to materialize the project for a new sports center for Gaspé;
➢ Increase the rates of assistance to municipalities to offset the additional costs generated by inflation, and adjust the amounts of assistance on files in progress to take inflation into account;
➢ Adjust the programs to the realities of outlying regions where construction costs are higher due to transport and the presence of monopolies in certain key sectors (asphalt, concrete, etc.).


2- Demography and housing

➢ Regionalize immigration and put in place incentives to ensure the deployment of newcomers to places with labor needs, including our region.
➢ Improve the Accès-Logis program and the PHAQ (for social and affordable housing) by recognizing regional specificities (in the region: higher construction costs / lower rent prices);
➢ Establish a support program for private housing in the regions (in the regions: higher construction costs / lower rent prices);
➢ Establish incentives for the construction of houses by young families (like what the City of Gaspé does by reimbursing transfer duties for young graduates).


3- Transportation

➢ Reassess the programs put in place to generate demand on the airlines and make the necessary adjustments to ensure reliable, affordable and accessible air service, in concert with the carriers;
➢ Complete investments on the railway to Gaspé for goods and passengers and hire additional engineers to speed up its repair;
➢ Continue SPBSLG's investments and development efforts to maximize the development of the Port of Sandy-Beach;
➢ Improve road investments in the Gaspé and Côte-de-Gaspé sector, particularly in sectors where public safety is at stake;
➢ Improve support for public and intercity transit in the regions;
➢ Recognize intercity transport in the regions as an essential service and review the business model accordingly;
➢ Support the establishment of a maritime link between Gaspésie, Anticosti and the North Shore, a project led by the Port of Havre-Saint-Pierre;
➢ Grant the financial assistance expected by the City for the complete repair of the detour road in Pointe-Navarre.

4- Adaptation to climate change

➢ Put in place structuring actions to protect our vital infrastructures such as Route 132, our riparian environments from the erosion of the banks;
➢ Solve once and for all the problem of erosion in the heart of the village of L'Anse-à-Valleau, a file that has been dragging on since 2016, and allow the shoreline to be protected there with a view to a long-term vision;
➢ Adopt a better prevention approach in erosion cases and adopt a global and long-term vision for the protection of our infrastructures;
➢ Equip municipalities in the climate change file to be better able to identify the best actions in terms of prevention and adaptation.


5- Diversification of municipal revenues and one-time inflation assistance

➢ Quickly grant ad hoc assistance to municipalities to offset the effects of inflation before the next municipal budgets;
➢ Make commitments to review municipal taxation and diversify municipal revenues, in a predictable, flexible approach and with less paperwork, during the next fiscal pact.

6- Support for our economic sectors

➢ Tourism (development of niches, eg: winter tourism, cruises, etc.);
➢ Fisheries (conversion to redfish, support for 2nd-3rd processing, etc.);
➢ Wind power (recognition of the community component, support for “repowering” in the coming years, ensuring that expertise is maintained, etc.);
➢ Public services (continue investments in health, education, etc.);
➢ Modulation, decentralization and deconcentration (adopt an approach aimed at making decisions in the regions, modulated and adapted to the reality of each region, while decentralizing the provincial administrative apparatus there).

7- Culture and Heritage

➢ Recognize the historic site of Berceau du Canada (where the Jacques-Cartier cross was planted) and support it financially;
➢ Pursue cultural agreements with the MCCQ;
➢ Increase envelopes for heritage protection and act in collaboration with Quebec municipalities on this issue.

Facebook iconTwitter icon

4flowersWeb

Contact Us

fbpx
Français English

CAMPAGNE ÉLECTORALE 2022 : LA VILLE DE GASPÉ FAIT CONNAÎTRE SES ATTENTES ENVERS LE PROCHAIN GOUVERNEMENT

Le prochain gouvernement du Québec sera élu le 3 octobre 2022. La Ville de Gaspé désire faire connaître ses attentes aux différents partis politiques et aux candidats en lice pour le poste de député.e de Gaspé à l’Assemblée nationale. Plusieurs dossiers ont avancé ces 4 dernières années, mais plusieurs autres doivent également être à l’agenda du prochain gouvernement pour permettre à la Ville de Gaspé de continuer sa croissance économique et démographique et d’améliorer son milieu de vie.


« Plusieurs enjeux doivent être à l’agenda du prochain gouvernement. Pour la Ville de Gaspé, l’un des dossiers qui n’a pu être réglé et qui stagne en ce moment est celui d’un nouvel aréna. Il est impératif que le prochain gouvernement s’engage à remettre en place un programme de financement qui permettra aux municipalités de réaliser des projets d’arénas au Québec. Celui de Gaspé est à la fin de sa durée de vie utile et, à l’heure actuelle, personne ne peut nous dire combien d’années encore nous pourrons trouver des pièces pour opérer le système de réfrigération désuet. Je m’attends à ce que les candidats locaux se prononcent sur cet enjeu et nous appuie pour obtenir le plus rapidement possible du financement pour débuter la construction du nouveau complexe sportif », mentionne le maire, Daniel Côté.


Les coûts de construction et de fonctionnement des municipalités grimpent de façon affolante avec l’inflation galopante, comme pour tous les citoyens et citoyennes. Or, ce sont les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada qui profitent de la hausse des prix avec leurs revenus de taxes à la consommation comme la TVQ et la TPS et les impôts sur le revenu qui grimpent plus rapidement. Le mode de financement des municipalités, basé en grande partie sur l’impôt foncier, n’augmente pas aussi rapidement que l’inflation; le système fiscal est à revoir. À l’instar de l’UMQ, la Ville de Gaspé demande au prochain gouvernement une aide ponctuelle pour pallier l’inflation, et ce, avant les prochains budgets municipaux, sans quoi, les villes ne pourront pas absorber toutes ces dépenses sans en faire payer le prix aux contribuables, déjà pris à la gorge par cette même inflation.


« Le régime de taxe foncière a atteint ses limites pour le monde municipal. Il faut que le prochain gouvernement puisse travailler avec les municipalités pour trouver des alternatives à ce mode de taxation et de nouveaux fonds pour les villes. Rapidement, il faudra une somme ponctuelle pour amoindrir le choc sur les budgets de l’année 2023 des municipalités » exige le maire de Gaspé.


Logement, main-d’oeuvre et garderie


« Gaspé connaît une forte croissance de son économie, mais celle-ci est freinée par les pénuries de logements, de main-d’oeuvre et de places en garderie. Pour les services de garde, un bon travail a été effectué alors que 184 places de supplémentaires ont été octroyées durant la dernière année pour le territoire de Gaspé. Tout doit être mis en place pour en accélérer le déploiement. Il faudra aussi continuer à être agile et en accorder plus, si le besoin se fait sentir avec l’arrivée massive de nouveaux travailleurs, puisque notre vigueur économique ne s’essoufflera pas de sitôt » explique le maire de Gaspé, Daniel Côté.


Du côté de la main-d’oeuvre, il faut absolument que les gouvernements puissent accélérer le processus de régionalisation de l’immigration. Il s’avère, pour l’avenir de nos régions et certainement pour la Ville de Gaspé, une piste de solution prometteuse pour son développement. Le vieillissement de la population se fera d’abord sentir en région; l’arrivée de nouveaux arrivants fait partie des stratégies adoptées par la municipalité. Il faut que le gouvernement puisse mettre en place des incitatifs clairs afin que les personnes qui immigrent au Canada sachent que les régions comme la nôtre sont prêtes à les accueillir. L’intégration à la culture francophone est également plus naturelle en région.
« Enfin, si on veut accueillir de nouvelles familles et de nouveaux travailleurs, il faut que le gouvernement accélère le pas sur le soutien à la construction des logements, notamment les logements sociaux et abordables. Les programmes en place doivent permettre aux promoteurs de la région de lancer rapidement des projets de logements sociaux et abordables. Les délais sont encore trop longs et il faut également un effort de modulation dans les programmes pour refléter les coûts de construction plus élevés dans les régions excentrées comme la nôtre. Il y également des ajustements à faire au niveau des différentes lois et règlements afin d’enlever certains freins au développement de logements, comme nous l’avons vécu avec le ministère des Ressources naturelles dernièrement à Gaspé. Si le logement est une priorité du prochain gouvernement, il devra enlever tous les freins et nous aider à relever ce défi », mentionne le maire.


La Ville de Gaspé transmettra l’ensemble de ses revendications (en annexe au présent communiqué) à chacun des candidats qui se présentent dans la circonscription de Gaspé. Le maire invite également chaque candidat à rencontrer le conseil municipal au cours des prochaines semaines.

Liste des dossiers prioritaires identifiés par la Ville de Gaspé

1- Bonification des programmes en infrastructures municipales

➢ Mettre rapidement en place un programme d’aide pour la construction d’infrastructures sportives majeures, comme les complexes sportifs, afin de concrétiser le projet de nouveau centre sportif pour Gaspé;
➢ Bonifier les taux d’aide aux municipalités pour pallier les coûts additionnels engendrés par l’inflation, et ajuster les montants des aides sur les dossiers en cours de réalisation pour tenir compte de l’inflation;
➢ Moduler les programmes aux réalités des régions excentrées où les coûts de construction sont plus élevés en raison du transport et de la présence de monopoles dans certains secteurs clés (asphalte, béton, etc.).


2- Démographie et logement

➢ Régionaliser l’immigration et mettre en place des incitatifs pour assurer un déploiement des nouveaux arrivants aux endroits ayant des besoins en main-d’oeuvre, dont notre région.
➢ Bonifier le programme Accès-Logis et le PHAQ (pour les logements sociaux et abordables) en y reconnaissant les spécificités régionales (en région : coûts de construction plus élevés / prix du loyer plus bas);
➢ Établir un programme de soutien aux logements privés en région (en région : coûts de construction plus élevés / prix du loyer plus bas);
➢ Établir des incitatifs pour la construction de maisons par les jeunes familles (à l’instar de ce que fait la Ville de Gaspé en remboursant les droits de mutation pour les jeunes diplômés).


3- Transport

➢ Réévaluer les programmes mis en place pour susciter la demande sur les lignes aérienneset faire les ajustements nécessaires pour assurer une desserte aérienne fiable, abordable et accessible, de concert avec les transporteurs;
➢ Compléter les investissements sur le chemin de fer jusqu’à Gaspé pour la marchandise et les passagers et embaucher des ingénieurs supplémentaires pour accélérer sa réfection;
➢ Continuer les investissements et les efforts de développement de la SPBSLG pour maximiser le développement du port de Sandy-Beach;
➢ Bonifier les investissements routiers dans le secteur de Gaspé et de la Côte-de-Gaspé, notamment dans les secteurs où la sécurité publique est en jeu;
➢ Bonifier le soutien pour le transport collectif et interurbain en région;
➢ Reconnaître le transport interurbain en région comme un service essentiel et revoir le modèle d’affaires en conséquence ;
➢ Appuyer la mise en place d’un lien maritime entre la Gaspésie, Anticosti et la Côte-Nord, projet porté par le Port de Havre-Saint-Pierre ;
➢ Accorder l’aide financière attendue par la Ville pour la réfection complète de la route du détour à Pointe-Navarre.

4- Adaptation aux changements climatiques

➢ Mettre en place des actions structurantes pour protéger nos infrastructures vitales comme la route 132, nos milieux riverains de l’érosion des berges ;
➢ Régler une fois pour toutes la problématique de l’érosion au coeur du village de L’Anse-à-Valleau, dossier qui traîne en longueur depuis 2016, et permettre que la berge y soit protégée dans une optique de vision à long terme;
➢ Adopter une meilleure approche de prévention dans les dossiers d’érosion et adopter une vision globale et à long terme de protection de nos infrastructures ;
➢ Outiller les municipalités dans le dossier des changements climatiques pour être mieux à même d’identifier les meilleures actions en termes de prévention et d’adaptation.


5- Diversification des revenus municipaux et aide ponctuelle sur l’inflation

➢ Octroyer rapidement une aide ponctuelle aux municipalités pour pallier les effets de l’inflation avant les prochains budgets municipaux ;
➢ Prendre des engagements pour revoir la fiscalité municipale et diversifier les revenus municipaux, dans une approche prévisible, flexible et avec moins de paperasse, ce, lors du prochain pacte fiscal.

6- Soutien à nos secteurs économiques

➢ Tourisme (développement des niches, ex. : tourisme hivernal, croisières, etc.);
➢ Pêches (conversion vers le sébaste, soutien aux 2e-3e transformations, etc.);
➢ Éolien (reconnaissance du volet communautaire, soutenir le « repowering » dans les prochaines années, s’assurer de maintenir l’expertise, etc.);
➢ Services publics (poursuivre les investissements en santé, éducation, etc.) ;
➢ Modulation, décentralisation et déconcentration (adopter une approche visant la prise de décisions en région, modulées et adaptées à la réalité de chaque région, tout en y déconcentrant l’appareil administratif provincial).

7- Culture et Patrimoine

➢ Reconnaître le site historique de Berceau du Canada (lieu de plantation de la croix de Jacques-Cartier) et le soutenir financièrement ;
➢ Poursuivre les ententes culturelles avec le MCCQ ;
➢ Bonifier les enveloppes pour la protection du patrimoine et agir en collaboration avec les municipalités du Québec sur cette question.