fbpx
Français English

DESPITE THE LACK OF A FUNDING PROGRAM: GASPÉ TAKES AN IMPORTANT STEP TO MOVE FORWARD WITH THE SPORTS COMPLEX PROJECT

The municipal council, which is meeting in regular session this Monday, September 19, 2022, is taking an important step to move forward with the sports complex project by adopting a loan by-law of $2,3 million that will make it possible to carry out complete plans and specifications for the arena phase. By moving forward in this way, the municipal council is sending a clear signal as to the importance of this issue for the municipality and is urging the Quebec government to provide an assistance program for sports infrastructure in the short term following the provincial elections.

“The City Council is making a bold decision today by assuming the costs of professional services for the complete design of plans and specifications for the arena phase of the sports complex. This investment of $2,3 million will allow us to be 100% ready when the next financial assistance program becomes available, regardless of the level of progress requested from the municipalities. As soon as the project is accepted by the government, we will be able to call for tenders for the construction of phase 1, the arena component. We still have the ambition to complete the sports complex project, but we will have to phase it in 2 stages, starting with the arena first and adding the sports facilities and synthetic field component to it in a second phase. This phasing is necessary in order to respect taxpayers' ability to pay. » mentions the mayor of Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

A NECESSARY SUBSIDY PROGRAM

Recall that the City of Gaspé had submitted in the PAFIRS program, in February 2020, an ambitious project for a sports complex on the land behind the C.-E.-Pouliot high school, valued at the time at $18 million. Unfortunately, the project had not been retained by the Government of Quebec.

“The next government will absolutely have to put in place a financial assistance program to enable municipalities to develop or bring their sports facilities up to standard. In Gaspé, the arena is at the end of its useful life and its maintenance generates increasingly large expenses. The previous government put a hockey plan on the table, but for there to be a hockey plan, we must first have quality arenas and ensure modern infrastructure for our young people, while many cities are waiting to their sports infrastructures" mentioned the mayor of Gaspé.

A PROJECT IN 2 PHASES TO ALLOW RAPID REALIZATION

The municipal council also decided to go ahead with a first phase which would include the arena and multifunctional rooms to then be able to integrate a synthetic surface and sports facilities in a 2e time. The land in question is still the one behind the C.-E.-Pouliot high school because of its location in the city center and the possible synergies with high school students.

“For us, there is no doubt that having a diversified infrastructure is necessary to meet the needs of the City of Gaspé. A synthetic surface and additional sports surfaces are imperative to improve our living environment, diversify the sports offer and meet the needs of our population, which is diversifying and growing from year to year. However, it is clear that for a city like Gaspé, we have a better chance of achieving this project in 2 phases. The plans and specifications stage will also make it possible to update the construction costs of such an infrastructure and thus better inform the council for the continuation of the project” mentioned the mayor of Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

The City of Gaspé intends to carry out the plans and specifications for phase 2023 of the sports complex during the year 1 and the sports clubs will be consulted to obtain their ideas and meet the needs expressed. If the government adopts a program in 2023, the municipality will be ready to go to tender for rapid construction.

“The key to this project is to quickly obtain financial support from other levels of government,” concludes Daniel Côté.

Facebook iconTwitter icon

4flowersWeb

Contact Us

fbpx
Français English

MALGRÉ L’ABSENCE DE PROGRAMME DE FINANCEMENT : GASPÉ POSE UN GESTE IMPORTANT POUR ALLER DE L’AVANT AVEC LE PROJET DE COMPLEXE SPORTIF

Le conseil municipal, qui est réuni en séance ordinaire ce lundi 19 septembre 2022, pose un geste important pour aller de l’avant dans le projet de complexe sportif en adoptant un règlement d’emprunt de 2,3 millions de dollars qui permettra de réaliser les plans et devis complets de la phase aréna. En avançant de la sorte, le conseil municipal envoie un signal clair quant à l’importance de ce dossier pour la municipalité et exhorte le gouvernement québécois, de prévoir à brève échéance un programme d’aide pour les infrastructures sportives suite aux élections provinciales.

« Le conseil municipal prend une décision audacieuse aujourd’hui en assumant les coûts des services professionnels pour la conception complète des plans et devis de la phase aréna du complexe sportif. Cet investissement de 2,3 millions de dollars nous permettra d’être prêts à 100% lorsqu’un prochain programme d’aide financière sera rendu disponible, et ce, peu importe le niveau d’avancement demandé aux municipalités. Nous pourrons, dès l’acceptation du projet par le gouvernement, aller en appel d’offres pour la construction de la phase 1, soit le volet aréna. Nous avons toujours l’ambition de compléter le projet de complexe sportif, mais nous devrons le phaser en 2 étapes en débutant avec l’aréna dans un premier temps et en y ajoutant le volet plateaux sportifs et terrain synthétique dans un second temps. Ce phasage est rendu nécessaire afin de respecter la capacité de payer des contribuables. » mentionne le maire de Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

UN PROGRAMME DE SUBVENTION NÉCESSAIRE

Rappelons que la Ville de Gaspé avait déposé dans le programme PAFIRS, en février 2020, un projet ambitieux de complexe sportif sur les terrains derrière la polyvalente C.-E.-Pouliot évalué à l’époque à 18 millions de dollars. Malheureusement, le projet n’avait pas été retenu par le gouvernement du Québec.

« Le prochain gouvernement devra impérativement mettre en place un programme d’aide financière afin de permettre aux municipalités de développer ou mettre aux normes leurs installations sportives. À Gaspé, l’aréna est en fin de vie utile et son entretien engendre des dépenses de plus en plus grandes. Le précédent gouvernement a mis sur la table un plan hockey, mais pour qu’il y ait un plan hockey, nous devons d’abord avoir des arénas de qualité et assurer des infrastructures modernes à nos jeunes alors que plusieurs villes sont en attente par rapport à leurs infrastructures sportives » mentionne le maire de Gaspé.

UN PROJET EN 2 PHASES POUR PERMETTRE UNE RÉALISATION RAPIDE

Le conseil municipal a également décidé d’aller de l’avant avec une première phase qui inclurait l’aréna et des salles multifonctionnelles pour ensuite pouvoir y intégrer une surface synthétique et des plateaux sportifs dans un 2e temps. Le terrain visé est toujours celui derrière la polyvalente C.-E.-Pouliot en raison de son emplacement au centre-ville et des synergies possibles avec les étudiants au secondaire.

« Pour nous, il ne fait aucun doute que d’avoir une infrastructure diversifiée est nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins de la Ville de Gaspé. Une surface synthétique et des plateaux sportifs supplémentaires sont impératifs pour améliorer notre milieu de vie, diversifier l’offre sportive et répondre aux besoins de notre population qui se diversifie et qui grandit d’année en année. Cependant, force est de constater que pour une ville comme Gaspé, nous avons plus de chance de parvenir à réaliser ce projet en 2 phases. L’étape des plans et devis permettra en outre de mettre à jour les coûts de construction d’une telle infrastructure et ainsi mieux éclairer le conseil pour la suite du projet » mentionne le maire de Gaspé, Daniel Côté.

La Ville de Gaspé compte réaliser durant l’année 2023 les plans et devis de la phase 1 du complexe sportif et les clubs sportifs seront consultés pour obtenir leurs idées et répondre aux besoins exprimés. Si le gouvernement adopte un programme en 2023, la municipalité sera prête à partir en appel d’offres pour une construction rapide.

« La clé de ce projet est d’obtenir, rapidement, un soutien financier des autres ordres de gouvernement » conclut Daniel Côté.