fbpx
Français English

PREVENTION STARTS AT HOME: MEASURE RADON IN YOUR HOME WITH A FREE TESTING KIT AND PROTECT YOUR FAMILY FROM LUNG CANCER

Gaspé (November 8, 2022) — The City of Gaspé is pleased to work with Take care of radon, a coalition of national health organizations, to raise awareness of the dangers of radon.

As the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers, radon is found in high concentrations in homes across the country. Although Canada has had a national radon plan for over a decade, many Canadians are still unaware of the existence of this deadly gas.

“On average, 58 people in Canada will die from lung cancer each day, making it the leading cause of cancer death in Canada,” says Lynn Murad, Cancer Prevention Specialist, Canadian Cancer Society. “It is important for Canadians to know that their risk from radon can be controlled by measuring radon in their homes and reducing their exposure. »

The City of Gaspé invites everyone to participate in the 100 Radon Testing Kits Challenge, a program that provides free radon testing kits to everyone in the community. Everyone participating in the program is encouraged to attend the radon information session to learn more about the health effects of radon, why it is a concern in our area, on Health Canada's recommendations as well as where and when you can get your radon detector.

"Radon is a well-established human carcinogen, and screening for and mitigating radon levels is an important method of preventing lung cancer," says Anne-Marie Nicol, researcher at Simon University's Faculty of Science. Fraser. “Residential radon is marked as the main exposure of the Canadian population to radon; preventing radon exposure will reduce the number of people who die from lung cancer. »

"Radon testing is simple to perform, and there are effective solutions to mitigate radon levels in homes where they are high," says Pam Warkentin, ACSTR's Executive Director and Project Leader, Take care of radon. “The first step is to know the radon concentration in your home. Every home should be tested for radon — it's as simple as that. »

For the citizens of Gaspé, this is the perfect time to deal with radon. Individuals from the community are encouraged to enroll in the program at https://takeactiononradon.ca/fr/joignez-nous/defi-des-trousses-de-depistage-de-radon/

 The free radon information session will take place on November 16 at 18:30 p.m. online.

 About Take Action Radon

Take Action Radon is a national initiative that aims to bring together radon stakeholders and raise awareness about radon across Canada. The initiative is led by the Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (CASTR), CAREX Canada and the Canadian Cancer Society.

To learn more about radon and how to measure radon in your home, visit: occupetoiduradon.ca

To schedule an interview with a specialist, please contact Erin Curry e_curry@carst.ca

Facebook iconTwitter icon

4flowersWeb

Contact Us

fbpx
Français English

LA PRÉVENTION COMMENCE À LA MAISON : MESURER LE RADON DANS VOTRE MAISON AVEC UNE TROUSSE DE DÉPISTAGE GRATUITE ET PROTÉGEZ VOTRE FAMILLE DU CANCER DU POUMON

Gaspé (8 novembre 2022) — La Ville de Gaspé est heureuse de travailler avec Occupe-toi du radon, une coalition d’organisations nationales de santé, pour sensibiliser la population aux dangers du radon.

Étant la principale cause de cancer du poumon chez les non-fumeurs, le radon se trouve en concentration élevée dans les habitations de tout le pays. Bien que le Canada dispose d’un plan national sur le radon depuis plus de dix ans, de nombreux Canadiens ignorent encore l’existence de ce gaz mortel.

« En moyenne, 58 personnes au Canada mourront chaque jour du cancer du poumon, ce qui en fait la principale cause de décès par cancer au Canada », déclare Lynn Murad, spécialiste en prévention du cancer, Société canadienne du cancer. « Il est important que les Canadiens et Canadiennes sachent que leur risque lié au radon est contrôlable en mesurant le radon dans leur maison et en réduisant leur exposition. »

La Ville de Gaspé invite toutes les personnes à participer au défi des 100 trousses de dépistage du radon, un programme qui fournit gratuitement des trousses de dépistage du radon à toutes les personnes de la communauté. Toutes personnes participant au programme sont encouragées à assister à la séance d’information sur le radon afin d’en savoir plus sur les effets du radon sur la santé, sur les raisons pour lesquelles il s’agit d’une préoccupation dans notre région, sur les recommandations de Santé Canada ainsi que sur le lieu et le moment où vous pouvez vous procurer votre détecteur de radon.

« Le radon est un agent cancérigène humain bien établi et le dépistage et l’atténuation des concentrations de radon constituent une méthode importante de prévention du cancer du poumon, » déclare Anne-Marie Nicol, chercheuse à la faculté des sciences de l’Université Simon Fraser. « Le radon résidentiel est marqué comme étant la principale exposition de la population canadienne au radon ; la prévention de l’exposition au radon réduira le nombre de personnes qui meurent du cancer du poumon. »

« Le dépistage du radon est simple à réaliser et il existe des solutions efficaces pour atténuer les concentrations de radon dans les maisons où elles sont élevées, » déclare Pam Warkentin, directrice générale de l’ACSTR et chef de projet, Occupe-toi du radon. « La première étape consiste à connaître la concentration de radon dans votre maison. Chaque maison doit faire l’objet d’un dépistage du radon — c’est aussi simple que cela. »

Pour les citoyens de Gaspé, c’est le moment idéal pour s’occuper du radon. Les personnes de la communauté sont encouragées à s’inscrire au programme au https://takeactiononradon.ca/fr/joignez-nous/defi-des-trousses-de-depistage-de-radon/

 La séance d’information gratuite sur le radon aura lieu le 16 novembre à 18:30h en ligne.

 À propos d’Occupe-toi du radon

Occupe-toi du radon est une initiative nationale qui vise à rassembler les parties prenantes du radon et à les sensibiliser au radon dans tout le Canada. L’initiative est menée par l’Association Canadienne des Scientifiques et Technologues du Radon (ACSTR), CAREX Canada et la Société canadienne du cancer.

Pour en savoir plus sur le radon et sur la façon de mesurer le radon dans votre maison, visitez : occupetoiduradon.ca

Pour planifier une entrevue avec un spécialiste, veuillez communiquer avec Erin Curry e_curry@carst.ca