fbpx
Français English

Press Release

THE CITY OF GASPÉ ANNOUNCES CHANGES AT THE HEAD OF THE ORGANIZATION

Gaspé, November 29, 2022 – The City of Gaspé is announcing major changes at the head of its administrative organization. Thus, it announces the appointment of Jocelyn Villeneuve as General Manager. He will thus succeed Sébastien Fournier, who will now become Deputy Managing Director. The current Treasurer, Director of Administrative and Airport Services, Dave Ste-Croix, will also become Deputy Director General while retaining his current duties. In addition, the City also announces that it will soon be staffing a position dedicated exclusively to communications.

“Gaspé is experiencing an unprecedented wave of development, requiring certain adjustments to better support this growth. These changes occur following the departure of the Director of Communications and Strategic Files, as well as the recent work stoppage of the current Director General, thereby encouraging personal and professional reflection on the rest of his career. The Board also wanted to strengthen external communications by hiring a full-time person and also had internal talent that it wanted to maximize. This is how these major changes have become unavoidable in my eyes and in the eyes of Council,” summarizes Mayor Daniel Côté.

General director : Mr. Jocelyn Villeneuve is a professional planner. He holds a master's degree in regional development and a DESS (2e cycle) in regional public administration. After various positions in the regions of Quebec, he was Director of Urban Planning, Development and Environment for the City of Gaspé for 14 years; through this mandate, he acted as interim general manager of the city in 2010 and as director of public works between 2013 and 2015. For the past 5 years, he has been general manager of the MRC de Rivière-du-Loup. His knowledge of Gaspé, his extensive experience in the municipal sector, his experience as general manager and his development vision are all assets that make him the best person to take over. He receives the full confidence of the City Council.

Deputy General Director : Mr. Sébastien Fournier is a notary by profession. City Clerk from 2005 to 2006, Director of Legal Services and City Clerk from 2007 to 2010, then General Manager for the past 12 years, he has worked countless hours and is always ready to get involved to move his city forward, but to a different degree. Recent health problems have led him to this reflection and the City Council has chosen to offer him an important position allowing him to achieve this dual objective. He is recognized for his unparalleled rigor and he will be able to continue to make the organization benefit from his qualities that complement those of Mr. Villeneuve.

Deputy General Director : Mr. Dave Ste-Croix is ​​an accountant by profession. He has been Treasurer and Director of Administrative Services for the City of Gaspé since 2003. To these responsibilities was added the management of the Airport in 2010. He acted as interim general manager in 2010 as well as this summer, during of Mr. Fournier's work stoppage. He showed great interest and skills to take on more responsibilities within the organization. He is recognized for his great rigor in the management of finances and the various files for which he has been responsible; the many investments of recent years at the airport are the result of his leadership and the team he directs.

Communications: Finally, the City Council wishes to integrate a resource exclusively devoted to communications, a position that will be filled in the coming weeks after a call for applications. In the era of social networks and technological revolutions, in a context where the notoriety of Gaspé has grown, hiring a person dedicated to communications will be a plus for services to citizens.

“Such organizational changes are the result of intense reflection. On the board, we are eager to support the new wave of development that is happening at home. To achieve this, we need to unite people who are competent and capable of propelling the development of Gaspé to another level. This is why we have made these changes which, we strongly believe, will make it possible to support the major projects underway and those that await us to improve the living environment of citizens, particularly in residential, commercial and industrial developments, in infrastructure for sports, recreation, culture, water management, and so on,” says Daniel Côté.

“I sincerely congratulate Mr. Villeneuve for having chosen to return to Gaspé to henceforth lead the City there. I would also like to thank Mr. Fournier for the leadership he has demonstrated over the past 12 years as general manager; our tandem has propelled Gaspé to unparalleled growth. I also salute his great resilience and his willingness to continue working with us despite the health issues that bothered him. I also thank Mr. Ste-Croix for his excellent leadership, for his interest in assuming more responsibilities, and I congratulate him for having accepted to complete this trio worthy of the major lines. The management and development of Gaspé are in good hands,” concludes Mayor Daniel Côté.

Note that these changes will come into effect next February.

- 30 -

Information and interviews: Daniel Côté, Mayor

                                                  418-368-2104 p.8503

Facebook iconTwitter icon

4flowersWeb

Contact Us

fbpx
Français English

Communiqué de presse

LA VILLE DE GASPÉ ANNONCE DES CHANGEMENTS À LA TÊTE DE L’ORGANISATION

Gaspé, le 29 novembre 2022 – La Ville de Gaspé annonce des changements majeurs à la tête de son organisation administrative. Ainsi, elle annonce la nomination de Jocelyn Villeneuve à titre de directeur général. Il succèdera ainsi à Sébastien Fournier, qui deviendra désormais directeur général adjoint. L’actuel trésorier, directeur des Services administratifs et de l’Aéroport, Dave Ste-Croix, deviendra aussi directeur général adjoint tout en conservant ses tâches actuelles. De plus, la Ville annonce également qu’elle procédera sous peu à la dotation d’un poste consacré exclusivement aux communications.

« Gaspé connait une vague de développement sans précédent, nécessitant certains ajustements afin de mieux soutenir cette croissance. Ces changements surviennent suite au départ du directeur des Communications et des Dossiers stratégiques, ainsi qu’au récent arrêt de travail de l’actuel directeur général, favorisant par le fait même une réflexion personnelle et professionnelle quant à la suite de son parcours. Le Conseil souhaitait aussi un renforcement des communications externes par l’embauche d’une personne à temps plein et avait aussi des talents à l’interne qu’il souhaitait maximiser. C’est ainsi que ces changements majeurs sont devenus incontournables à mes yeux et aux yeux du Conseil », résume le maire Daniel Côté.

Directeur général : Monsieur Jocelyn Villeneuve est aménagiste de profession. Il détient une maîtrise en développement régional et un DESS (2e cycle) en administration publique régionale. Après divers postes dans les régions du Québec, il a été directeur de l’Urbanisme, de l’Aménagement et de l’Environnement de la Ville de Gaspé pendant 14 ans; à travers ce mandat, il a assuré l’intérim de la direction générale de la Ville en 2010 et de la direction des Travaux publics entre 2013 et 2015. Depuis 5 ans, il est directeur général de la MRC de Rivière-du-Loup. Sa connaissance de Gaspé, sa vaste expérience du milieu municipal, son expérience comme directeur général et sa vision de développement sont autant d’atouts faisant de lui la meilleure personne pour prendre le relai. Il reçoit l’entière confiance du Conseil municipal.

Directeur général adjoint : Monsieur Sébastien Fournier est notaire de profession. Greffier de la Ville de 2005 à 2006, directeur des Services juridiques et greffier le de 2007 à 2010, puis directeur général ces 12 dernières années, il a travaillé sans compter les heures et est toujours prêt à s’impliquer pour faire avancer sa ville, mais à un degré différent. De récents ennuis de santé l’ont amené à cette réflexion et le Conseil municipal a choisi de lui offrir un poste d’importance lui permettant d’atteindre ce double-objectif. On lui reconnait une rigueur inégalable et il saura continuer de faire profiter l’organisation de ses qualités complémentaires à celles de monsieur Villeneuve.

Directeur général adjoint : Monsieur Dave Ste-Croix est comptable de profession. Il est trésorier et directeur des Services administratifs de la Ville de Gaspé depuis 2003. À ces responsabilités s’est ajoutée la direction de l’Aéroport en 2010. Il a assuré l’intérim à la direction générale en 2010 ainsi que cet été, lors de l’arrêt de travail de monsieur Fournier. Il a montré beaucoup d’intérêt et de compétences pour assumer davantage de responsabilités à l’intérieur de l’organisation. On lui reconnaît une grande rigueur dans la gestion des finances et des différents dossiers dont il a assumé la charge; les nombreux investissements des dernières années à l’aéroport sont d’ailleurs le fruit de son leadership et de l’équipe qu’il dirige.

Communications : Finalement, le Conseil municipal souhaite intégrer une ressource exclusivement consacrée aux communications, un poste qui sera à pourvoir dans les prochaines semaines après un appel de candidatures. À l’ère des réseaux sociaux et des révolutions technologiques, dans un contexte où la notoriété de Gaspé a pris de l’envergure, l’embauche d’une personne dédiée aux communications sera un plus pour les services aux citoyens.

« De tels changements organisationnels sont le fruit d’une intense réflexion. Au conseil, nous voulons ardemment soutenir la nouvelle vague de développement qui se passe chez nous. Pour y arriver, nous avons besoin de fédérer des gens compétents et aptes à propulser le développement de Gaspé à un autre niveau. C’est pourquoi nous avons apporté ces changements qui, nous y croyons fortement, permettront de soutenir les projets majeurs en cours et ceux qui nous attendent pour rehausser le cadre de vie des citoyennes et citoyens, notamment en développements résidentiels, commerciaux et industriels, en infrastructures de sports, loisirs, culture, en gestion des eaux, et j’en passe », précise Daniel Côté.

« Je félicite sincèrement monsieur Villeneuve d’avoir fait le choix de rentrer à Gaspé pour désormais y diriger la Ville. Je remercie également monsieur Fournier pour le leadership qu’il a su démontrer ces 12 dernières années à la direction générale; notre tandem a permis de propulser Gaspé sur une croissance inégalée. Je salue aussi sa grande résilience et sa volonté de poursuivre le travail avec nous malgré les enjeux de santé qui l’ont ennuyé. Je remercie aussi monsieur Ste-Croix pour son excellent leadership, pour son intérêt à assumer davantage de responsabilités, et je le félicite d’avoir accepté de compléter ce trio digne des lignes majeures. La gestion et le développement de Gaspé sont entre bonnes mains », conclut le maire Daniel Côté.

Notons que ces changements entreront en vigueur en février prochain.

- 30 -

Informations et entrevues :        Daniel Côté, maire

                                                  418-368-2104 p.8503